
LANGLEY PARK GOLF RULES QUIZ – FEBRUARY 2021 
 

1 point to be awarded for each correct answer unless otherwise stated (Total - 37 pts) 
 

QUESTION 1/30 (5 Points) 
 
What are the 5 newly 'defined areas of the course'? 
 
a) 
b) 
c) 
d) 
e) 
 

 

QUESTION 2/30 
 

 
 
 

Before playing his ball from long grass, a player moves some loose impediments from around his ball. In doing so 
he causes his ball to move. What is the ruling? 
 

A.   The player gets one penalty stroke and the ball must be replaced. 
B.   There is no penalty but the ball must be replaced. 
C.     The player gets the general penalty (loss of hole in match play/two shot penalty in stroke play 

  and the ball must be replaced). 
 

 
QUESTION 3/30 
 

 
 
A player moves a stone from around his ball in bunker. The ball moves – what is the penalty? 
 

A. One Stroke and replace the ball 
B. The player gets the general penalty (loss of hole in match play/two shot penalty in stroke play 

and the ball must be replaced). 
C. No Penalty but the ball must be replaced 

 

 

 



 

QUESTION 4/30 
 

 
 
 

A player's ball is half buried in the rough. Without saying anything to any other players in the group and without 
marking its position, the player touches the ball and rotates it. By so doing she identifies the ball as hers. What is 
the ruling? 
 

A.  The player gets one penalty stroke 
B.  There is no penalty 
C.  The player gets the general penalty (loss of hole in match play/two shot penalty in stroke play). 

 
 
QUESTION 5/30 
 

 
 

 

A player's ball lies in a penalty area and she takes a practice swing in the penalty area, grounding her club in the 
process. What is the ruling? 
 

A.   The player gets the general penalty (loss of hole in match play/two shot penalty in stroke play). 
B.   The player gets one penalty stroke. 
C.   There is no penalty. 
 

 
QUESTION 6/30 
 

 
 
A player hits a shot in a bunker and his ball rebounds off the face of the bunker. The player does not have time 
to get out of the way and the ball hits his body. The player must play the ball as it lies, but what is the penalty? 
 

A. There is no penalty. 
B. The player gets the general penalty (loss of hole in match play/two shot penalty in stroke play). 
C. The player gets one penalty stroke. 

 



QUESTION 7/30 (2 Points) 
 

 
 
 

In match play, a player plays a ball from outside the teeing area when starting a hole, the penalty is loss of hole. 
 

A. True 
B. False 

 
What would be the position in stroke play……………………………………………………………………………… 
 

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
 
QUESTION 8/30 

 

 

 
 

A player moves a leaf lying close to his ball in a penalty area and in doing so causes his ball to move. What is the 
ruling? 
 

A. The player gets the general penalty (loss of hole in match play/two shot penalty in stroke play 
and must replace the ball). 

B. The player gets one penalty stroke and must replace the ball. 
C. There is no penalty and the player must replace the ball. 

 
 

QUESTION 9/30 
 

 
 

In match play, a player mistakenly believing he has won a hole, picks up his ball-marker. What is the ruling? 
 

A. The player gets one penalty stroke and must replace his ball. 
B. There is no penalty and the player must replace the ball or ball-marker. 
C. The player loses the hole. 

 

 



 
 
QUESTION 10/30 (2 Points) 
 

 
 
In a match, both players’ balls are on the putting green. Player A putts and her ball hits Player B’s ball. What is 
the penalty? 
 

A. Player A wins the hole 
B. Player B wins the hole 
C. No Penalty and play the ball as it lies. Player B replaces his ball 
D. No Penalty and she must replace her ball. Player B replaces his ball        
 
What would the answer be in Stroke Play? ……………………………………………………………………………………                                                                        
 

 
QUESTION 11/30 
 

 
 
A live insect in a bunker can be moved without penalty. 
 

A. True 
B. False 
 

 
QUESTION 12/30 
 

 
 

When the edge of ground under repair is defined by a line on the ground, the line itself is in the ground under 
repair. 
 

A. True 
B. False 

 

 

 



 
QUESTION 13/30 
 

 
 
A player's ball is in a penalty area in some shallow water, but he decides to play it as it lies. He deliberately 
touches the water in the penalty area on his backswing. What is the ruling? 
 

D. There is no penalty. 
E. The player gets one penalty stroke. 
F. The player gets the general penalty (loss of hole in match play/two shot penalty in stroke play). 

 
 
QUESTION 14/30 
 

 
 

A player may repair spike marks on her line of play on the putting green before putting. 
 

A. True 
B. False 

 
 
QUESTION 15/30 
 

 
 
A player plays her second shot, searches for her ball briefly and then announces she will go back and play a 
provisional ball. She drops and plays a second ball from where she played her previous stroke. The player then 
continues searching for her original ball and finds it within three minutes of when she first started searching for 
it. What is the ruling? 
 

A. The player may choose whether to continue with the original ball or the provisional ball. 
B. The player must continue with the original ball. 
C. The player must continue with the provisional ball. 

 

 

 



 
 
QUESTION 16/30 
 

 
 
On the putting green, a player marks and lifts her ball. After replacing it, a strong gust of wind causes the ball to 
move. The player must replace her ball on the original spot. 
 

A. True 
B. False 

 
 
QUESTION 17/30 
 

 
 
A player finds her ball by stepping on it in thick rough after searching for it for 2 minutes, causing it to move. 
What is the ruling? 
 

A. There is no penalty and the player must drop the ball as near as possible to the estimated spot. 
B. The player gets a penalty of one stroke and must place the ball on the estimated spot. If the ball was 

under the growing grass it must be replaced under that grass. 
C. There is no penalty and the player must place the ball on the estimated spot. If the ball was under the 

growing grass it must be replaced under that grass. 
 

 
QUESTION 18/30 
 

 
 
A player drops a ball in the correct way in the relief area when taking a drop under a Rule. The ball hits the 
ground first but then accidentally hits her foot before coming to rest in the relief area. The player must drop the 
ball again. 
 

A. True 
B. False 

 

 

 

 



QUESTION 19/30 
 

 
 
On the putting green, a player accidentally moves his ball when addressing it. What is the penalty? 
 

A. One Stroke Penalty and play it as it lies 
B. One Stroke Penalty and replace the ball 
C. No Penalty but must replace the ball 
D. The player gets the general penalty (loss of hole in match play/two shot penalty in stroke play. 

 
 

QUESTION 20/30 
 

 
 
 

A player’s ball lies on the Putting Green and the player elects to have the flagstick attended by her caddie. Her 
ball accidentally hits her caddie. She loses the hole in match play or incurs a 2 shot penalty in stroke play and the 
ball must be replaced to where she hit her putt from. 
 

A. True 
B. False 

 

 

QUESTION 21/30 (2 Points) 
 

 
 
In match play, a player marks the position of his ball on the putting green, lifts the ball and sets it aside. By 
mistake, he putts the ball from the spot at which he set it aside. What is the ruling? 
 

A. The player must correct his mistake by replacing the ball at the correct spot otherwise he loses the  hole. 
B. The player loses the hole. 
C. The player incurs a penalty of one stroke and must correct his mistake by replacing the ball at the correct 

spot before playing from the next tee. 
 
And what would be the ruling in Stroke Play?………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 



QUESTION 22/30  
 

 
 
When, in a foursomes competition, a side is required to drop a ball, who may drop the ball? 
 

A. Only the player whose turn it is to play. 
B. Either of the partners. 
C. Only the partner of the player whose turn it is to play. 

 

 
QUESTION 23/30 
 

 
 
In stroke play, a player bends long grass near her ball so that she can see the ball when playing her stroke. She 
plays her shot. 
 

A. The player gets two penalty strokes. 
B. There is no penalty. 
C. The player gets one penalty stroke. 

 
 
QUESTION 24/30 
 

 
 
A player's ball lies just off the putting green and sand lies on the putting green between the ball and the hole. 
What is the ruling? 
 

A. The player must not remove the sand. 
B. The sand may be removed by any means. 
C. The player may only remove the sand by picking it up or brushing it aside with his hand or a club. 

 
 
 
 
 



QUESTION 25/30 
 

 
 
In stroke play, a marker signs the player's score card in the space provided for the player's signature and the 
player then signs in the space provided for the marker’s signature. What is the ruling? 
 

A. Both the player and the marker are disqualified. 
B. The player is disqualified. 
C. There is no penalty. 

 
 

QUESTION 26/30 
 

 
 
A player, whose ball lies in a bunker, casually leans on his club in the bunker while waiting for his opponent or 
playing partner to play. What is the ruling? 
 

A. There is no penalty. 
B. The player gets the general penalty (loss of hole in match play or two stroke penalty in stroke play) 
C. The player gets one penalty stroke. 

 
 

QUESTION 27/30 
 

 
 

 
A player addresses her ball on the fairway, but before playing her shot, changes her mind on her club selection. 
She returns to her bag, and when changing her club, a gust of wind causes her ball to roll down a slope several 
feet from its original position. What is the ruling? 
 

A. There is no penalty and the ball must be played from its new position. 
B. There is no penalty and the ball must be replaced. 
C. The player gets a penalty of one stroke and must replace the ball. 

 

 



QUESTION 28/30 
 

 
 
A player is entitled to free relief when his ball is embedded in the rough. 
 

A. False. 
B. True 

 

 

 

QUESTION 29/30 
 

 
 

When playing out of a bad lie, a player accidentally hits the ball a second time on her follow through. What is 
the ruling. 
 

A. The double hit counts as one shot but the player gets an additional one stroke penalty. 
B. The double hit counts as only one stroke and there is no penalty. 
C. The double hit counts as two shots but there is no additional penalty. 

 

 

QUESTION 30/30 (just added at the end for cuteness – he/she is looking very sheepish for a bunny rabbit) 
 

 
 
A player's ball lies in a hole made by a rabbit in a bunker. The player is entitled to free relief. 
 

A. True 
B. False 

 

 


