

PANNAL GOLF CLUB

HARROGATE ADVERTISER REPORT

Several of Pannal's most prestigious trophies were decided on last Sunday's Finals Day, the culmination of the knockout competitions which have been taking place throughout the summer. This year's Tiger Trophy winner is Ollie White, going one better than last year's runner-up. The Men's Handicap Trophy has the largest entry and is colloquially referred to as the "Never-Never" in reference to its difficulty to win; Stephen Caldwell is this year's champion after a hard fought battle with Adam Gray. In the Ladies' Club Championship, Ruth Skaife-Clarke defeated Ann Whiteley, and in the Ladies' Pannal Trophy, Vicky Eyre overcame Janet Jones. This year's Harewood Cup winner was Paul Grover and the Barber Bratby Trophy was won by Fraser Dunlop. In the Mary Lee Final, Sophie Jacob won on the 18th hole against Sandra Taylor, and the Beanland Trophy was won by Jeremy Halliday and Mark Andrews. Special mention to Sue and Art Severn, who retained the Mixed Foursomes Trophy after a closely-fought match against Pam and Steve Dodds. Congratulations to all the winners and also the runners-up - it is a great achievement just to reach any final.

There was some great scoring at the top of the leaderboard in Saturday's Team Stableford competition. The format was two scores out of four to count on each hole, but all four scores to count on the 10th and 18th holes. Three teams ended on 88 points requiring back nine countback to determine the podium placings. Winners were Alan Roberts, Richard Ponsford, Derek Hufton and Cameron Reid, amassing 50 points on their back nine. Tony Robinson, Max Davies, Ray Dart and Steve Fenton were awarded second place ahead of the low handicap quartet of Richard Weddall, Michael Crack, Andrew Kent and Jonathan Plowman. Many of the competitors returned later for a superb Caribbean themed social evening, with entertainment provided by the Pantasy Steel Band.

On Tuesday, Pannal ladies played an individual medal competition on a tough scoring day. Silver Division saw a three way tie on net 80, with Gail Witcomb (15) declared winner on countback from Ann Whiteley (13) and Sophie Jacob (13). Anne Smith (29) won Bronze Division with net 81, ahead of Carole Roberts (23) in second place and Sandra Walmsley (21) in third, both scoring net 82. This competition was also the basis for determining the winners of the Annual Medal, competed for by ladies who had won their division in any of the year's preceding monthly medals. Congratulations to Gail Witcomb who is this year's Silver Division Annual Medal winner, and Carole Roberts who has won the Bronze Division Annual Medal. Tuesday's 9 hole green course stableford was won by Elaine Pawley (36) with 14 points, 2 points ahead of Eileen Lees (31).

On Thursday, Pannal ladies competed for the Freda Rhodes Trophy, a stableford competition over 9 holes. Julie Smith (28) is this year's winner with 17 points, improving on last year's third place. Jenny Crossland (30) came second with 16 points, 2 points ahead of Glenda Dinning (37) in third.

The top three players in Monday's Stableford all earned 1 shot handicap reductions. Tim Matthews (10) won with 41 points, a point ahead of Richard Hanson (11) who dropped only 1 shot on his last 12 holes. Len Huxter (6) was third with 39 points.

Congratulations to Ken Bryant (15), who is this year's winner of the Over-75s Trophy, having scored 37 points in Friday's stableford competition. Bill Caw (19) was runner-up with 36 points, ahead of Rob Farnell (17) in third with the same score.



